The key to your success? - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

View Poll Results: The key to my success...
inheritance 1 4.17%
beat the odds working my butt off 11 45.83%
fell into it, thankfully 2 8.33%
still climbing the ladder, but will be on top one way or another. 10 41.67%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-29-2008, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
Banned

The key to your success?

You worked your way to the "top"? Married the daughter/son of a business owner? Friend had idea for business, which you stoled and made successful? Invention? Parents left you already successful business or enough money to start one? After several failed attempts, you finally got some business going? Self employed?

I was a carpenter until my skilsaw accident. I played in a band with 3 guys. 2 owned a carpet shop and 1 worked for them. So while my cut up hand was healing, they talked me into learning flooring. 18 years ago. Been self employed the last 12 years. I don't make a 'ton' of money, but enough to pay my bills and support my guitar habit, and more than the average person in living in PA. Not sure I'd say it successful by everyones standard, but I like what I do and it pays pretty well. So I'm successful!
The key for me I'd say has been working my butt off, willing to do anything at any hour to keep things moving and getting done, and a bit of providence. Knowing the right people that gave me opportunities that led to my success. Not sure if 80K to 100K is considered successful these days for a self emloyed guy with a family. But it's enough for me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-29-2008, 01:28 PM

Re: The key to your success?

I put my success down to hard work, determination and some luck.