Lefties in a Righty world - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-25-2015, 01:46 PM Thread Starter

Lefties in a Righty world

I'm left handed but have been playing right handed since I started playing 20-some years ago. This was the advice that was given to me when I first picked a guitar up, that if I had never played either RH or LH to learn on a RH since there would be SO many more options available to me in terms of guitars. It's not even something I think about when playing anymore.
I saw this post this morning on GearGods about this exact same thing, and I wholeheartedly agree with Josh's reasons for picking up a RH axe if you've never played either.
http://geargods.net/dad-lectures/jos...t-is-he-right/

Any other lefties out there in this right handed world?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-25-2015, 02:37 PM

Re: Lefties in a Righty world

I was about 13 when my Mom took me to a guitar shop for my first guitar. When the salesperson saw me pick it up upside down, right-handed didn't even seem like an option and we didn't know any better, so I got a lefty MIJ Squier (which by the way the other guitarists in my school had convinced me was a POS, didn't find out that wasn't the case until I picked up an MIA Strat years later that wasn't much better). Not being able to try friends' guitars and not having good options for guitars has been a little annoying over the years, but on the other hand, I have gotten some great deals on the used market because of the lack of demand.