"Loaded" guitar and gear reviews? - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-14-2014, 08:05 AM Thread Starter

"Loaded" guitar and gear reviews?

Ever research a guitar or some gear and find fantastic reviews around the web, but buy it and find the reviews were total BS?

Last July when I started playing guitar again I had a few $$ saved up and looked at local guitars for sale. One of which was an RG5EX1... and I really wanted a guitar with a good tremolo. The reviews said the Edge3 was "stellar"... "best tremolo ever"... "stays in tune for months"... "can dive bomb all day and still be perfectly in tune" were some of the reviews I read. So based on that advice I bought the guitar... only to find that I had nothing but trouble keeping it in tune. So that is how I found Jemsite, while searching on how to set up my tremolo. Once I found this site... I found out that the Edge3 has a horrible reputation... the exact opposite of what I read in the reviews.

I have since made it a lot better with careful leveling and setup, etc... but it makes me wonder if some of the reviews out there are "loaded". The RG5EX1 was a "Guitar Center" exclusive Ibanez and I can't help but think that they might have put these reviews out there to sell the guitars.

Anyone else ever wonder that? Or am I way off base here and just sore because I bought a lesser quality guitar?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-14-2014, 08:26 AM

Re: "Loaded" guitar and gear reviews?

As you've read here; it's not a reliable bridge. I've never used one, but I take the folks here's word as gospel.