Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP... - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-10-2008, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 2,459
Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

I have a main computer running Vista that I use daily, and an older computer that has XP that sits in the corner collecting dust. I have a Sony MiniDV cam that Sony will not update the drivers for so you can get video from the cam to a PC with Vista. Sony only provide drivers to capture the video on an XP OS. To get video from the cam, I have to hook my monitor, mouse, and keyboard to the XP box, capture the video, then dump that on a thumbdrive, then hook everything back up to my Vista box and do any editing, burning uploading etc.

What I'd like to do is connect the boxes and and be able to connect the cam to the XP box, and do all the capturing etc with my mouse, monitor etc connected to the Vista box.

Is this possible?
Darin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-10-2008, 10:04 PM
 
Dino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,774
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

Vista sucks just run XP on both machines.
Dino is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 06:09 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 2,459
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dino View Post
Vista sucks just run XP on both machines.

Thought about it. But, I'm having no other real problems with Vista, I like Vista otherwise. And I don't want to worry about driver and software support fallin off with XP on BOTH machines. Vista is a reality, I'm going to just deal with it. Plus, I only have one XP disc and am not prepared to buy another one.
Darin is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 07:21 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,781
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

If the 2 PC are networked, I would use remote desktop from the Vista machine to access the XP machine, run the various video capturing aps, and have a shared folder on the Vista machine that you drop the video to. Close the remote desktop, and carry on with the editing etc on the Vista machine. I think that's what you want to achieve isn't it?

I've become a big fan of Vista. It isn't perfect, but no OS fits every conceivable situation.
Algiman is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 10:34 AM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,479
Reviews: 1
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

a simply KVM switch would be alot easier (switches keyboard, video & mouse between the two PCs). You can also just leave the XP box sitting in the corner on a network connection and remote access it. If you're using XP Pro or Media Center use Windows Remote Desktop otherwise you need either VNC or even better live mesh www.mesh.com which gives remote desktop and more into xp and vista home boxes (and mobile phones).

on the xp box setup file sharing to the entire C drive or better yet the specific folder where you're dumping the videos. this of course assumes a very simple network and switch (likely router w/ built in switch and cables).

lots of help here
http://www.windowsnetworking.com

... glen
jemsite is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 12:25 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,781
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jemsite View Post
a simply KVM switch would be alot easier
Luddite


Quote:
If you're using XP Pro or Media Center use Windows Remote Desktop
I thought you could download a patch that would allow remote access to all XP variants now? I could be wrong mind you.
Algiman is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 12:32 PM
site founder 0% owner
 
jemsite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 11,479
Reviews: 1
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

i'm not sure if patches/hacks actually work so easily for XP home but you can easily goto www.mesh.com for the same technology ...glen
jemsite is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 12:35 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 2,781
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

Just checked. I believe that XP home has the client so can be accessed using remote desktop from higher versions.
Algiman is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 08:40 PM
 
Dino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,774
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darin View Post
Thought about it. But, I'm having no other real problems with Vista, I like Vista otherwise. And I don't want to worry about driver and software support fallin off with XP on BOTH machines. Vista is a reality, I'm going to just deal with it. Plus, I only have one XP disc and am not prepared to buy another one.
Wmdows ME was a reality but many people managed to skip over it. Glen seems to have a good solution without blowing off your hard drive.
Dino is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-11-2008, 09:01 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,613
Reviews: 18
Re: Need PC help. 2 PC's: 1 Vista,1 XP...

Or you could install the sony software on the vista machine if you're slick enough and run the app from the vista machine itself. The reason you can't install/run it is because vista has the wonderful program compatibility assistant running in the background. you can always disable it or here are your other options:

1. run the xp machine and the vista machine using a kvm box
2. run both of the machines on a network and rdp into the xp box to do whatever you need to do (IMO this would be overkill for what you're trying to do)
3. remote access. Again overkill IMO since the machine is within a few feet of you.

This would be my favorite:
4. run a virtual machine from within your vista box and install xp onto it (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/pro.../overview.mspx). Once you install it, run the program, edit your videos and then do whatever you need to do. The nice thing about running a vm inside your vista box is that you can make it as small as you need to and give it peanuts for memory and disc space.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got Vista, what am I going to hate? Darin Off-topic / Miscellaneous 49 02-21-2008 11:35 AM
Cubase and Vista cityofdelusion Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 12 12-02-2007 06:56 PM
Vista Widgets DV8 Off-topic / Miscellaneous 1 06-17-2007 12:07 AM
Vista Support jay ratkowski Off-topic / Miscellaneous 5 04-22-2007 10:14 AM
Windows Vista anyone? shredmaster Off-topic / Miscellaneous 138 02-04-2007 08:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome