New Camera, Any Suggestions? - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 01:52 PM Thread Starter

New Camera, Any Suggestions?

Right, I have just sold my Samsung Digimax and now I am after a new Camera as I am starting a new Photography course next week. I have a budget of around 200-250. Any input would be much appreciated, thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 01:57 PM

Re: New Camera, Any Suggestions?

I'm no expert when it comes to photography, but I don't think you'd go to wrong with a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8. It's 7.2mp and has a 12x optical zoom and got a Best Buy rating from Which magazine. They also do a 10mp version, but I'm not sure how much that costs.
post #3 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 02:00 PM

ask eddie...
post #4 of 44 (permalink) Old 09-30-2007, 02:16 PM

speaking as a photographer and as someone whose gone through numerous photography courses. rule 1: try and get your hands on a camera and get a demo, just like guitar, some just dont feel right for certain people. also lens quality is way more important than the number of megapixels, for example sony use carl-zeiss, panasonic use leica and canon and nikon are just generally amazing. i highly recomend visiting dpreview.com (a great resource for amateurs and professionals alike).