UK Electrician - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-17-2006, 01:22 PM Thread Starter

UK Electrician

Hello all.

I hope this is ok to ask this here, so here goes.

I'm wondering what to do. Where I work, there is the opportunity to put in for redundancy.

I'm a qualified electrician, to the 16th edition standard (England, UK) and have been advised to take the advanced level 3 which I am starting in september, which is one day a week.

Now, what I am not sure of, is, shall I take the redundancy and go for an opportunity with a large contractor, will I be a less attractive canditate having to be released one day a week?

Or shall I wait for my level 3 to be completed.

If I put in for the redundancy and a good offer comes up, would it be stupid to turn it down if I am still wating for redundancy? As the redundancy money is alot, about 11,000.

Or would it be best to take the position regardless of the redundancy and head into the better career with the better prospects?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-17-2006, 01:31 PM

Re: UK Electrician

Better career + better prospects = arse covered later in life
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-17-2006, 01:35 PM

part p is wheres it at at the moment mate, dont need to tell you that anyway - got experience - got C&G 2381 ? sorted !!! get C&G 2391 and print your own cash
post #4 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-17-2006, 01:38 PM

Have you got a job lined up that you know you can get? Wouldn't be good to end up stuck between jobs and having to use the redundancy for living!
If you are paying for the course yourself,is there no way of doing it in evening classes? (i don't know what it involves,so its a serious question)
Ideally you could get the £11,000 then go straight to a better job?