Working out, advice for first timer with no experience please!! - Jemsite
Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 66 (permalink) Old 03-25-2007, 12:45 PM Thread Starter

Cool Working out, advice for first timer with no experience please!!

Hey up,

I know theres a few people into their fitness on here, so I'm hoping you can help me out.

I'm not particularly fit, and I want to feel healthier, look a tad more buff on the arms, and have a more defined chest. I've got no experience at all with working out, and need some advice with some general living, eating stuff and how to do excercises/work outs to reach my goal .

Cheers for any help give,

Spikey!xx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 66 (permalink) Old 03-25-2007, 01:30 PM

Re: Working out, advice for first timer with no experience please!!

I work out on the treadmill for a half an hour about 3-4 days a week and lift wieghts for about 20 minutes about twice a week. Im about 5' 9" and weigh about 150-160 or so. Ever since I quit smoking about a year and a half ago, i've been working out more.
post #3 of 66 (permalink) Old 03-25-2007, 01:49 PM

Reviews: 6

Eat smaller portions. Pushups are really good if done correctly. Also aerobic exercise is important. Find something you like, mountainbiking, hiking, skateboarding. Aerobic is usually easier when it's something fun. At least for me. It's always easy to whip off a couple sets of pushups/situps in front of the tv or in the morning.
post #4 of 66 (permalink) Old 03-25-2007, 03:48 PM

I would start out with push-ups and their many variations.

Do some leg stuff, too. A lot of people forget about that. Simple squats will work just fine.

I wouldn't worry about getting into any supplements, but a decent protein powder might not be a bad idea.