Do you own a solid state amp? - Jemsite
Polls Create forum Polls here or vote in existing polls.

View Poll Results: Do you own a solid state amp?
Yes 131 87.92%
No 18 12.08%
Voters: 149. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 04:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,470
Question Do you own a solid state amp?

Yo. What's up?

lol

Just kidding. Seriously, I was just wondering how many of you own a solid state amp? So many people say "If it ain't got tubes, don't waste my time". lol But I still have a solid state amp and I'm pretty fond of it... I'm sure if you'd put a Mesa Boogie Erectifier (joke) next to it would pale in comparison in a lot of ways...but using my Park solid state combo in combination with my Boss multi effects unit...I get some pretty good sounds.

When I record it, it sounds terrible though. Kind of like a chain saw compared to nice, warm tube sounds. But I use a so called "Clip distortion" in the software I use to change that.

Anyway, any thoughts? Any people out there who have solid state amps and are lovin' 'em?
Myst and rain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 04:44 PM
Moderator
 
jemaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,848
Reviews: 1
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I use all Marshall's.

TUBES - 2 DSL100 heads, a JCM900 head and a JTM60 head -all with tubes.

SOLID STATE - AVT150 head, AVT50 head, MG15DFX, MG30 -all solid state.

I love 'em all. SS for practice/studio and tubes for gigging out.

Last edited by jemaholic; 06-15-2010 at 07:33 PM.
jemaholic is offline  
post #3 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,470
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

Ah, interesting how you use the SS for practice/studio. Here's a pic of mine:



It's a discontinued 25W amp made by Park which is/was a subdivision of Marshall. Kind of like what Squier is for Fender, I guess. But its clean channel is nice and warm yet sparkly sounding which I like. Anyway, I've had it since the 1990s and the only thing that has kind of deteriorated over the years is the pots.

Incidentally, what do you think of that mic placement? lol
Myst and rain is offline  
post #4 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 05:35 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 148
Reviews: 1
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I still use my Roland Cube 30 on a daily basis. Great amp.
DanMeagher is offline  
post #5 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 05:36 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 148
Reviews: 1
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jemaholic View Post
I use all Marshall's.

TUBES - 2 DSL100 heads, a JCM900 head and a JTM60 head -all with tubes.

SOLID STATE - AVT150 head, AVT50 head, MG10DFX, MG30 -all solid state.

I love 'em all. SS for practice/studio and tubes for gigging out.
I must say that is a beautiful array of amps
DanMeagher is offline  
post #6 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 05:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,604
Reviews: 10
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I recently bought a Peavey Vypyr 30 for practicing at home and I love it! I have a Carvin Legacy for playing live with my band but for a little solidstate amp that cost under $250 I think the Vypyr rocks! Way better than the Line 6 stuff. Tubes are great but I'm not gonna practice at home on a 100 watt legacy. I've also heard good things about the Tech 21 sold state trademark amps.
doriangrey is offline  
post #7 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 05:45 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,024
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I've got an older Peavey Bandit. Not a bad amp. It's not as nice as the AC30 I'm using, but it can hold its own.
nato101010 is offline  
post #8 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 05:57 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,081
Reviews: 130
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

My only solid-state amp is my Marshall MG15 Micro Stack. Dimed out that thing has some rockin' overdrive and good tone. Two 10" speakers, each in their own cab.

However, when practicing I usually use one of my modded or low-wattage amps:

Marshall 1974X
Marshall Class 5
Epiphone Valve Junior with Tone and Gain mods
Crate V5

The Boogie Mark V combo does ok in 10W mode.

There's also the solid state preamp, but you don't give out the formula to the secret sauce, now do ya?

Cheers,

Race
racerevlon is offline  
post #9 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 06:00 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I own two transistor amps (a mini Marshall and a crappy Korean piece of junk that I never got rid off)
but I almost always use my GSP2101 (twin tube) into a Marshall JCM900 (bypassing its pre, into 4xEL34).

I must admit that I very rarely use one of the solid state pre amp settings on my 2101
It's basically got several Digitech pedals built in, which are good for certain tones, IE Dimebag.
But more importantly, that I usually have the GSP hooked up to my HiFi as well, so I don't need to power up my JCM every time I play.
At which point I am using the 2101's solid state speaker emulations (not digital), and my solid state HiFi, which is really a mini PA.
But still that tone is no match for a proper tube poweramp.
eviltwin is offline  
post #10 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 06:25 PM
Moderator
 
jemaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,848
Reviews: 1
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myst and rain View Post
Ah, interesting how you use the SS for practice/studio. Here's a pic of mine:



It's a discontinued 25W amp made by Park which is/was a subdivision of Marshall. Kind of like what Squier is for Fender, I guess. But its clean channel is nice and warm yet sparkly sounding which I like. Anyway, I've had it since the 1990s and the only thing that has kind of deteriorated over the years is the pots.

Incidentally, what do you think of that mic placement? lol
As far as mic placement - it looks like you're right on the edge of the speaker from that pic angle- you may want to try 2 inches in from the edge towards the middle for a deeper tone.
one inch in mic placement makes a huge difference in your recording.
I use two mics - one like yours and a cardioid about 3 feet back dead center. pan each left and right and tell me how you like it!
jemaholic is offline  
post #11 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 06:49 PM
 
CosmicDebris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 3,980
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I still have my Randall RC-235 Stereo Chorus 2x10. Actually got it out of storage last night and fiddled around with it.
CosmicDebris is offline  
post #12 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 06:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: LONDON, UK
Posts: 846
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I use a Peavey Supreme XL through a Framus cab with V30s and actually quite like it.
skins345669 is offline  
post #13 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 07:07 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291
Reviews: 98
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I still have an old 12w Marshall SS amp that my 8-year old daughter uses with her Hello Kitty Strat. It still sounds sweet, but I use my Legacy...



AlaskaBat is offline  
post #14 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 08:02 PM
Moderator
 
jim777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 9,596
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

I don't, but that's because I lent my Peavey Stereo Chorus 212 to someone and they moved away with it It was a cool amp though, sounded great for small gigs.
jim777 is offline  
post #15 of 87 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 10:40 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 148
Reviews: 1
Re: Do you own a solid state amp?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim777 View Post
I don't, but that's because I lent my Peavey Stereo Chorus 212 to someone and they moved away with it It was a cool amp though, sounded great for small gigs.
That would upset me deeply
DanMeagher is offline  
Reply

Tags
solid , transistor

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solid State Amp - $400 carlos grijalva Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 9 12-08-2005 11:18 PM
JEM7V thru a solid-state amp blackpuppets Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 3 09-25-2005 04:19 PM
Solid State Vaiworship Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 3 11-18-2001 09:09 PM
I need Solid State help - A solid state man in a tube world jem7pbk Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 07-26-2001 11:43 PM
Solid-State amp carlos seo Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 10 02-28-2001 12:54 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome