Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Takin' a Ride
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-04-2017, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: mabaland
Posts: 7
Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

So I've been playing a JEM for about 10 years now, although I'm not very good. I'll admit that I'm one of those guitar players that start out with the volume and tone set on 10.

Does anybody have any advice for how they set their volume and tone knobs?
gt_newb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 07:20 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 88
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

I always leave mine both at max. For me, anything other than that is too imprecise for replication and it's another little detail to try and remember. I would suspect everyone has a different answer for different reasons.
mjstack is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 09:15 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 156
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

Really depends what sound you want. I've always found that the volume knob is mainly used for live work, and specifically for cleaning up the sound by dropping the volume. Tone knob wise, it would be on a song by song basis.

For home use I'd recommend full volume (drive from pedals or amp channel), and set the Tone where you like it.
gusman2x is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 09:32 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: NH
Posts: 66
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

I set the EQ on the amp channels so that the Tone knob can really swing the brightness or darkness of the tone around. I usually leave volume on 10 and back it off if I want to roll out of distortion into a cleaner sound
Cina is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 01:24 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,200
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

10. I'll use the volume as kind of a "gain" knob while soloing, to occasionally back things off and clean things up a little, but generally I'm wide open. I don't roll the tone back much, but it's nice to have as an option.
Drew is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 02:22 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 5,746
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

I always leave Tone on 10. Volume is useful not so much for volume control, but for tone shaping. Assuming you're running a tube amp or high end modeler of course. Solid state amps don't react to the volume knob that way.
doriangrey likes this.
Takin' a Ride is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 06:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ausmateeee
Posts: 112
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

i was a ten/ten guy for years until someone kindly pointed out that i should roll my tone off half to get that milky sound like in this song.


Other than that i don't really know as i mostly play metal/blues style things.
kramersteen is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 09:14 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 987
Reviews: 13
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

For my Ibanez, vol & tone at 10.

Actually, the only guitar where I like to adjust vol/tone is my Suhr. Each position delivers different and usable tones. But on my Ibanez, it's always on 10.
Rachmaninoff is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-06-2017, 12:56 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canadia
Posts: 1,969
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

Most people leave their volume and tone maxed out. People only really adjust them during solos.
Stealthtastic is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-06-2017, 06:18 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,516
Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

I usually max out tone and adjust volume as needed. If there is a specific sound you are looking for then altering tone knob may help. In the guitar I am currently putting together I will be doing the Van Halen technique of not even having a tone knob.

Technically there are no rules so experiment.
moebius is offline  
Reply

Tags
ibanez volume tone knobs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB/WTT: Need set of tarnished Ibanez Gold Set Screw Vol/Tone Knobs muttznmongrelz Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 02-17-2016 10:41 AM
Are the volume/tone knobs on a Mikro the same as an RG? ironfistx Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 05-23-2012 12:46 PM
How do you remove the volume and tone knobs from a Jem Phatsaq Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 13 08-31-2010 03:53 PM
Volume/Tone Knobs AllP0werToSlaves All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 16 05-26-2008 01:59 PM
Help! Loose volume and tone knobs! s666FM Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 05-22-2008 02:32 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome