Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Takin' a Ride

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-04-2017, 09:53 PM Thread Starter

Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

So I've been playing a JEM for about 10 years now, although I'm not very good. I'll admit that I'm one of those guitar players that start out with the volume and tone set on 10.

Does anybody have any advice for how they set their volume and tone knobs?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 07:20 AM

Re: Advise on where to set tone and volume knobs?

I always leave mine both at max. For me, anything other than that is too imprecise for replication and it's another little detail to try and remember. I would suspect everyone has a different answer for different reasons.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 09:15 AM

Really depends what sound you want. I've always found that the volume knob is mainly used for live work, and specifically for cleaning up the sound by dropping the volume. Tone knob wise, it would be on a song by song basis.

For home use I'd recommend full volume (drive from pedals or amp channel), and set the Tone where you like it.
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 09:32 AM

I set the EQ on the amp channels so that the Tone knob can really swing the brightness or darkness of the tone around. I usually leave volume on 10 and back it off if I want to roll out of distortion into a cleaner sound
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 01:24 PM

10. I'll use the volume as kind of a "gain" knob while soloing, to occasionally back things off and clean things up a little, but generally I'm wide open. I don't roll the tone back much, but it's nice to have as an option.
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-05-2017, 02:22 PM