best introductory jem? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2004, 04:47 PM Thread Starter

best introductory jem?

Ok, I'm interested in getting a jem.

I want you all to entertain me with your own totaly subjective views on the Jem guitar here and tell me which model (sensibly priced around £600 - £800 or ($1500-$2000 ish) 2nd hand ) would be a good introductory model. I'm currently working on my studio material, with a view to touring it and I have a section in one of my songs that would suit a JEM tone quite nicely... which one would you guys tell me to get.... I know that they are all essentially the same guitar... but dammit, they all look so nice

My personal favorite is the JEM777DY. But are there any others you guys would reccomend.. purely on your own opinions?

PS. I'm fairly new to the JEM model, so you guys may have to give a brief suggestion to set me off
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2004, 05:07 PM

If your cool about buying from the US I think rich (www.ibanezrules.com)has a second hand DY in stock - and I even think theres one on UK ebay at the moment - get your dream one . The standard "budget" jem is a DBK; even though they are budget, there still amazing guitars. Id look into one of those 2

-better shred than dead-ANDY
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2004, 05:13 PM

i find jems and most current ibanez guitars very subjective.

i can try 6 of the same guitar and only like one, i think this is coz of there (imho) poor quality control and lack of decent woods half the time.

which promps me to say get an old one, a dy (if thats what u want) is prefect, the old jems (and ibanez in general) are much more solid, to me at least and standards are far more consistant.
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2004, 05:29 PM