BFP with refret and refinished neck? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-12-2002, 02:11 PM Thread Starter

BFP with refret and refinished neck?

Hey,

Just a quick question. I might be able to get my hands on a BFP in exchange for my 9.5/10 condition JPMP2. No, don't ask who is trading me!

Anyway, as I'm relatively new to the whole refret/refinish thing, is that a big deal for jems? My P2 is almost mint except for a small doink on the back, while the BFP is a strong 8.5/10. It has been refretted with Dunlop 6100s and the fretboard was cleaned and a clearcoat sprayed onto it.

The guy who wants to trade is very trustworthy and has a great reputation in Jemsite and Ebay. He says the BFP's neck is great and the pics he sent me look promising.

Anything I should be concerned about?

Thanks for the advice. I love my JPM, but y'all know how cool BFPs are!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-12-2002, 02:15 PM

as long as it was a pro job there isn't anything to be concerned about, I mean, the guitar was fretted once by regular people, refretted is perfectly fine in my books.

Remember, the people that work at Ibanez are just like you and me, they aren't superhuman or anything. hehehe
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-13-2002, 12:59 AM

But with clearcoat sprayed over the board? Is that normal on a BFP? Don't own one, but i thought they were plain rosewood... small detail?
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-13-2002, 01:01 AM

Forgive me...I am half asleep...maple... I'm sorry...lol
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-13-2002, 04:52 PM
rgr