controlled feedback - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2003, 01:34 AM Thread Starter

controlled feedback

how does joe get that nice feedback on those long notes in the song "Love Thing"? Is he using a coil tap? I have only been playing for under a year so I am new to most of this stuff?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2003, 03:57 PM

The songbook says he leaves his elbow (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
in a strategic point of the G string if I´m not wrong.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2003, 05:08 PM

loud amp is the key
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2003, 06:42 PM

The only time i can get feedback is by cranking the volume on my cheap solid state, and putting the pickup right near the amp.

Someone said to me a while back joe uses a Boss pedal called a CS or somthing, Compression/Sustain to sqeeze all the ****nitz out of the signal, anyone know if thats true?
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2003, 06:53 PM

nope.... nope.... and nope....

Feedback can actually be attained at even modest volumes... its all about control and angle of pickups vs. speakers...

To my knowledge, I don't know if satch even has a noise gate/compressor in his signal chain (at least I've never heard anyone mention it on here...)

Volume does have a part to play at those volumes, but with guys like Steve Vai and Joe Satriani, who both use feedback to great effect... they are constantly changing their position on the stage and the angle of the pickups towards the speakers...

Go on, turn up to a modest volume... stand in front of your amp and move your guitar around until it starts to feedback... have fun!

kev
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-12-2003, 09:39 PM Thread Starter