Custom Jem reworked - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 09-06-2006, 11:35 AM Thread Starter

Custom Jem reworked

i have slowly been working this project over the past few years and it is very close to its final stage. some of you may remember this one and with recent re-work on it i figured it was time for an update.
i had originally stained a darker walnut finish and a low-gloss tung-oil but it was too dark and you lost the look of the beautiful grain. so i re-sanded, tung-oiled and have now added a generous coat of clear gloss laquer (foam brushed on Minwax Polyester Clear Gloss). this is my first attempt at a clear coat and i couldn't have asked for a better result! i didn't buff, sand or anything on the final finish and i really like the grain patterns in the gloss - amazing to see this guitar in person (which noone except my gf has since i reworked it until now). the clear makes it look 3D when you tilt it in the light which it didn't do before i lightened the finish and added the clear gloss - you can see the grain in the pic of the back of the body and get an idea of what i mean.
F.Falbo (jemsiter extrodinaire) made the mahogany 2pc body and Harper Guitars made the maple and ebony neck (Dr.Vai signed the headstock for me). i took hardware and electronics from a new RG570 (the parts were new when they went on it over 2yrs ago), added a Double Whammy Dimarzio (crm/blk) in the bridge and a PAF Dimarzio in the neck w/ a micro switch to get bridge, bridge neck (sweet stratty tone!) and neck combo's respectively. the tone knob is there for looks only. this body was converted from being a hardtail Tele style to an edge route; also hence the micro switch over a blade 3 way type as it was intended to have EMG's.
here's some pics of the before an after look with the lighter grain and gloss:

before:

after: