Did you replace your PAF Pro's? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2009, 04:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The ATL
Posts: 49
Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

Hi guys,
I got my hands on a '88 Jem777DY....Finally!
It's in really good shape but the Paf pro's are a little microphonic.
I was about to pull them to send back to dimarzio and I got to Thinkin'

I really like the position 2 and 4 cleans sounds but I could use a sligtly fatter bridge tone and a slightly brighter neck tone.

anybody replace the paf pro's?

I should mention. I'm not a fan of the evo. High powered pickups in general compress too much for my tastes...

Thanks,
Paul
pfrischmann is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2009, 05:08 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: newcastle.england
Posts: 2,575
Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

replace paf-pros wwwwhat hell no ive got a 777vdy and theres no chance of me changing pups,that said if you want to change yours go for it bro,whatever floats ya boat
rob777vdy is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2009, 06:07 PM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,208
Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

I like the PAF Pros, but you should put whatever works for you in there. If you swap them out, I would hold on to the original pups though.
Ayrton is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2009, 08:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 978
Reviews: 4
Smile Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

I put De-Activator X pups in my custom and I love them!!
dccomputersa is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 03:41 AM
 
Jaden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 2,465
Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

keep the originals like folk have said...
for a pumped PAF sound there is always mo' joe paf joe or paf pro fred combo's
Jaden is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 10:41 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The ATL
Posts: 49
Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

I'd keep the originals, after Dimarzio re-pots them. They squeal like a stuck pig right now.
Dimarzio can get them back to usable for $25.00 each and won't mess with the bobbins, which is cool as I'll never get pickups to match the fading of the other parts......

One of the guys at dimarzio suggested a Breed neck for the bridge and a PAF Jo for the neck.

That could be interesting,

I need to spend more time with it before I do anything, I was just curious if others had similar experiences.
pfrischmann is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 10:44 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

nope PAF pros still original on mine...
eviltwin is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 11:21 PM
 
mi2tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Penang, Malaysia
Posts: 7,559
Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

My jem77BFP have got evo neck and evo2 in it. It's really up to you.
mi2tom is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-18-2009, 03:21 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 422
Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pfrischmann View Post
I'd keep the originals, after Dimarzio re-pots them. They squeal like a stuck pig right now.
Dimarzio can get them back to usable for $25.00 each and won't mess with the bobbins, which is cool as I'll never get pickups to match the fading of the other parts......

One of the guys at dimarzio suggested a Breed neck for the bridge and a PAF Jo for the neck.

That could be interesting,

I need to spend more time with it before I do anything, I was just curious if others had similar experiences.
Why pay Dimarzio to re-pot them for $50 when you can do it yourself? All you need is some paraffin wax and beeswax.
http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/dip.htm
littlephil is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-18-2009, 05:01 PM
HDS
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,247
Re: Did you replace your PAF Pro's?

Get ya an old crockpot from Goodwill and melt your wax, dip the pickups....done! Pretty easy stuff.
HDS is offline  
Reply

Tags
paf pro

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for White PAF PRO's. WTB or WTT Bowie Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 09-26-2008 12:39 PM
edge pro's rich2k4 Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 4 11-07-2005 09:21 AM
What will a pair of Paf Pro's do? Optimus Prime Pickups & wiring 11 01-26-2004 12:36 PM
Are ALL Lo-Pro's the same quality? Contra Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 09-17-2002 07:11 AM
Jem Pickups - All Paf pro's the same? frankfalbo Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 8 05-21-2001 11:51 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome