Do I set the combo on the UV1000C? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2010, 01:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 28
Do I set the combo on the UV1000C?

I bought an RG7620 and it came with a universe case with the 3 digit combo lock on it. The lock has never been used and still has a little red plastic tab in it. Does the case have a set combo of some sort or do I have to set it somehow?

Cheers.
ketiov is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2010, 04:17 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 379
Reviews: 6
Re: Do I set the combo on the UV1000C?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketiov View Post
I bought an RG7620 and it came with a universe case with the 3 digit combo lock on it. The lock has never been used and still has a little red plastic tab in it. Does the case have a set combo of some sort or do I have to set it somehow?

Cheers.
If it still has the red tab in it, it's set at 000. In order to set the combo, just hold the latch button the other way(opposite way of open), and it allows the lock to set itself.

Can't quote me for sure though, as it's been ages since I've set all the locks on my cases but if I remember right, that's how you do it. Also you should have a little Lock Combo Card that came with the case(if it's still in there) and it will tell you how to set and unset your lock.
Swirled777 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2010, 04:24 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Detroit, MI, USA
Posts: 1,457
Re: Do I set the combo on the UV1000C?

http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup/case_combo.htm
ryanb is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2010, 05:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 28
Re: Do I set the combo on the UV1000C?

Well I followed the instruction and now my case is locked. I set it to 892, twice, just to make sure I did it right. Pushed the button all the way towards the dial (the more closed position), let the button go, then closed it.
For it to open, does the lock just pop open or do I have to yank it or something? I've gone through 300 combos looking for it to open so far. Took me like 10 minutes.
ketiov is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2010, 06:19 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 379
Reviews: 6
Re: Do I set the combo on the UV1000C?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketiov View Post
Well I followed the instruction and now my case is locked. I set it to 892, twice, just to make sure I did it right. Pushed the button all the way towards the dial (the more closed position), let the button go, then closed it.
For it to open, does the lock just pop open or do I have to yank it or something? I've gone through 300 combos looking for it to open so far. Took me like 10 minutes.
should just pop right open when you disengage the lock with the combo and pushing the lock button to the open position. Shouldn't have to yank on it. Unless it's getting stuck.
Swirled777 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-23-2010, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 28
Re: Do I set the combo on the UV1000C?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swirled777 View Post
should just pop right open when you disengage the lock with the combo and pushing the lock button to the open position. Shouldn't have to yank on it. Unless it's getting stuck.
Yeah I've been pushing the button to the open position. Went through 500 combos before I decided to take a break. I'll let you guys know what happens.

Thanks for the info so far guys!
ketiov is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-24-2010, 11:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 28
Re: Do I set the combo on the UV1000C?

So I took a hammer to the thing and popped it open, reset the combo, and everything works now. I just need to tap the latch to the right for it to pop open after I set the right combo.
ketiov is offline  
Reply

Tags
uv1000c combo lock

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Marshall JCM 2000 DSL 401 vs mesa boogie dc5 combo vs peavey 5150 combo jrpalomo Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 12-10-2009 03:27 PM
Mesa Mark IV combo vs. Engl Screamer 50 combo Penguin Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 1 07-02-2007 02:51 PM
Wtb: Uv1000c jamesb_88 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 01-08-2006 06:11 PM
Wtb: Uv1000c ecalcagnino Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 05-24-2005 04:04 PM
UV1000C for my RGs Wolfie All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 3 08-23-2003 10:17 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome