Edge to LoPro Edge change - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 08:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Moscow till 2015
Posts: 82
Edge to LoPro Edge change

hi all
A client brought us 777VBK for a setup and after we refretted and cleaned his guitar etc etc he said he wants to change his old edge tremolo to LoPro edge. ow, this part is near impossible to by in Russia so I'll have to order it from Ibanez or evilbay or whatever. Since we never did these kind of replacements, the big question is - will LoPro Egde fit into Edge place without any surgica interventions?
We changed a bunch of Lo-TRS and TRS tremolo-equipped guitars into OFR and it fits like a glove without any modification, we also did a few LoTRS into LoPro Edge and it DID require some tremolo routing and tremolo posts changes and following that line looks like that installing LoPro Edge instead the Edge doe not require any changes.....help? F1?


customguitar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 08:32 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 879
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

I believe that is a drop-in replacement, no routing needed.

http://www.ibanezrules.com/new/jem505.htm

I think I've read that here before, but a "small upgrade fee" suggests to me that it can just be swapped out with no body work.
RedTiger is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 08:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Moscow till 2015
Posts: 82
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

yup I've read the same on the link above but....the problem here is that local russian ibanez dealer does not have ANY parts in stock, waiting period is 6 months (ouch) and I ca get this thing from evilbay in about 2-3 weeks. but there is no sense in buying theis part if its change needs some routing coz the client doesnt want that. he just likes the low profile of LoPro and wants it to be replaced only in case that there is no additional routing.\
For me, there is a sense in buying the thing if I can sell it
customguitar is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 03:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291
Reviews: 98
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

No routing required! I just replaced an Edge with LoPro into an RG770DX--dropped right in!



AlaskaBat is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 05:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sao Paulo
Posts: 317
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

Is it possible to refret a neck with binding on it without damaging the binding?
Melek Taus is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-14-2010, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Moscow till 2015
Posts: 82
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melek Taus View Post
Is it possible to refret a neck with binding on it without damaging the binding?
sure it is
customguitar is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-28-2010, 04:10 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: berkshire
Posts: 33
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

i have a jem 555 with edge pro2 will lo pro go straight in?
dazzer is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-30-2010, 03:17 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Geraldton, Western Australia
Posts: 965
Reviews: 11
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

Isn't an original Edge better than the lo-pro?..... the guitar I'm building will take either and I want to know which is the best bridge. I've read a lot on here about the Original Edge being pretty awesome and even the new 7VWh jems have them now. Can someone verify this for me. Which is the best of the two to drop into my custom? and also.... if the edge is the better one, then why would this person want to "downgrade"??. Someone please educate me on the Edge line.
Macka is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-30-2010, 11:12 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 501
Reviews: 11
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

It's in the same line. The great ones are at least Edge, Lo-Pro edge, Edge Pro, Zero Resistance and Edge Zero (although there's a debate going over if it's a good trem or a bad one..). Basically Lo-Pro Edge is a Edge with lower profile. That's all. Oh, and it's a direct fit.
FrostStorm is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-03-2010, 02:30 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plainfield, Illinois
Posts: 2,810
Reviews: 11
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

in MY opinion the lo pro is the best of the best. just as stable, easy to set, easy to use as the original Edge but lower profile which makes it easier to play, more comfortable and looks better (but that ones just an opinion, it has nothing to do with quality)
D.M.RG7620 is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-03-2010, 11:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Guatemala
Posts: 1,084
Reviews: 1
Re: Edge to LoPro Edge change

like everyone said... no need to work it just drop it...
Ironjose is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Edge/LoPro Edge with a ZR tremolo? ZOMB13 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 06-04-2009 12:00 PM
Can you replace an edge trem with a LoPro Edge? - Is it poss Cycovision Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 05-16-2009 12:22 AM
are edge and lopro edge interchangable ? andrewsfury Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 01-31-2009 03:16 PM
Is the LoPro Edge easily swappable with the Edge? agquake Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 06-20-2003 01:10 PM
Feel of LoPro Edge 7 vs LoPro Edge 6 and other setup issues mdrobnak_rg7 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 04-16-2003 02:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome