edge pro to lo pro - Page 2 - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #16 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 08:21 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: IA
Posts: 531
Re: edge pro to lo pro

nice try there legacy, hopefully the intonation is ok and all

yes, vids and clips pls if you insist
madpickin03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 10:04 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 5,711
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by thelegacy View Post
I'm sure Rich will disagree with me (it's funny how often he does), but in my opinion, EDGE and LO/PRO EDGE are interchangable.
i think they are too. intonation is the only thing i'd question.
screamndemon69 is offline  
post #18 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 10:19 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Argentina
Posts: 266
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Hi you could do it whitout routing. ten minutes work. I suposse i just got lucky with my intonation.

sers is offline  
post #19 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 12:28 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,702
Re: edge pro to lo pro

It's common knowledge ED/LP is a direct swap. Sometimes you'll have a clearance issue with the lock screws fitting in.

As for the LP/EP, I guess it's a "your mileage may vary". I tired it on a VWH and it would just barely fit in the hole but was not useable. And the LP will not even make it on to the studs of an EP rout.
Rich is offline  
post #20 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 02:31 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 479
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Okay LP to EP conversion complete. It almost made me cry to use my Jem7V as an example, but she came through it with flying colors and 6 minutes later was back to normal.

Here's the video. I don't have a clue why anyone would ever want to do this, but as you will see in the video it can be done very easily. Also, please don't judge the playing on the video it had no intent except to be abusive to an EDGE PRO trem.


http://www.theguitarboard.com/lopro2epro.wmv

Jem7V............................................. ...................$1000 - $1500
Edge Pro Trem.............................................. .......$189 from Guitar Center
Putting the LO/PRO back in my baby........................PRICELESS

I guess in the end my advice would be....don't take other peoples advice....including mine. Survey your situation, and if it looks like it might work, then try it. You might be suprised. I was.

Now I'm off to GC to try to find a guitar that comes with the EDGE PRO so I can install an EDGE into it. Might work, might not. I'll let you know shortly.
thelegacy is offline  
post #21 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 03:41 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mid Ohio Valley
Posts: 1,165
Re: edge pro to lo pro

ew .wmv
Ke^in is offline  
post #22 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 04:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 348
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by thelegacy View Post
Now I'm off to GC to try to find a guitar that comes with the EDGE PRO so I can install an EDGE into it. Might work, might not. I'll let you know shortly.

I hope you figure this one out, becuae I would like to change the Edge-Pro on my VWH for an Original Edge, in fact I already sold the EP and the rest of the hardware off of it.
Chris777 is offline  
post #23 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 05:34 PM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,209
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Doesn’t Steve Vai have an Edge on his guitar?
Ayrton is offline  
post #24 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 05:36 PM
 
Martallica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wexford,Ireland
Posts: 342
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Well done John nice one !
Martallica is offline  
post #25 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 06:06 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mid Ohio Valley
Posts: 1,165
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayrton View Post
Doesn’t Steve Vai have an Edge on his guitar?
LoPro
Ke^in is offline  
post #26 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 06:18 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: london,uk
Posts: 6,512
Re: edge pro to lo pro

He has many guitars!! Which one??
andy7jem is offline  
post #27 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 07:06 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 479
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Okay.... I do hate it when I spend $1400 to prove Rich right. I couldn't buy a Jem with an EDGE PRO. GC didn't have one, but I did find an Ibanez JS1000.

No go on the switch. The lo/pro and edge have no problem reaching the posts as Rich stated was the problem, but they are physically too big for the trem cavity cut on the top of the body



So I regretfully have to say that if you have an EDGE PRO, you may be stuck with it. Oh well, at least I have a JS1000 to sell now.

After playing with 2 of them today though, they aren't bad trems. Seem to be pretty solid. I still prefer the EDGE and LO/PROs, but I could probably learn to like them.

Rich was definately right on this one....dang it.

Here is another fact. I personally wouldn't be brave enough to do the amount of modification that would be required to make the EDGE or LO/Pro fit in this cavity. That sucks.

Last edited by thelegacy; 12-16-2006 at 07:43 PM. Reason: Wanted to give more credit where it was deserved...
thelegacy is offline  
post #28 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 07:16 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,109
Re: edge pro to lo pro

seems like something i might do for 1 of my guitars sooner or later
newbieguitarmaker is offline  
post #29 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 10:24 PM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,209
Re: edge pro to lo pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ke^in View Post
LoPro
I offer the following.





There are several photos with him using the old edge, but there are just as many with Steve using a lopro as well. However I am pretty sure Steve had the old edge on his guitar when he was just in Atlanta.
Ayrton is offline  
post #30 of 55 (permalink) Old 12-16-2006, 10:31 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 940
Re: edge pro to lo pro

On his touring guitars, only Evo has the original Edge (and has been as far back as '96 - back then with a gold edge).
The rest are all Lo Pro's (Flo, evo II, mojo, chu, bo, double neck, tripple neck etc etc).
J
Jeroenn is offline  
Reply

Tags
aanj neck , aanj neck joint , custom jem , double neck , edge pro trem , edge trem , edge trems , ibanez trem , neck joint , neck joints , pro edge , steve vai , string lock , trem arm

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge III swap for another Edge model trem? lespaulreedsmith All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 39 12-21-2017 07:11 PM
Edge mysteries solved!!......? - Answers to some common ques Jason Stone Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 18 05-27-2008 09:35 AM
I just put an Edge in my RG470! DirtyBird31 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 09-14-2007 12:22 AM
edge, lo pro and edge pro are 100% drop in fit dex Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 47 10-18-2005 12:29 PM
lo pro edge vs edge pro 7 cakewalkr7 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 02-11-2005 12:23 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome