Edge Pro Locking Studs Help - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-01-2013, 11:13 AM Thread Starter

Edge Pro Locking Studs Help

First off I'm a newb to the site and have searched 75 or so pages looking for info on this but can't seem to find what I need. Even checked Youtube but found nothing on the subject.

Here's my situation:
I have an older JS100 and I'm looking to install an Edge Pro trem. I have seen mention of the locking stud mod but I am completely in the dark about what it really is and why it's needed let alone how to perform the mod. I am also in the dark about which shims are needed to match the neck radius on the JS100.

The forum provides a lot of insight and help so I hoping someone could explain what I need to know or point me to a source for help.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-01-2013, 02:04 PM

Re: Edge Pro Locking Studs Help

Rich has a great explaination on his site:

http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup/stud_mod_03.htm

Not done this on a JS but I did do this on my 03 JEM and Universe and tuning stability is much better.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-01-2013, 02:20 PM

In addition to what was said above, you may also need to make the trem cavity bigger to accommodate an Edge Pro.