EdgePro compromises? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-01-2004, 09:09 PM Thread Starter

EdgePro compromises?

I'm sorry if this topic has been beaten to death already, but I'm a newbie here. I own several Jems with the original Edge trem and a couple with the Lo-Pro Edge (also I have one UV with the 7-saddle version of each). I actually prefer the original Edge for some reason, but I absolutely love both trems, especially compared to the simpler Fender-style Floyds.

I am considering buying a new Jem, wither a VSBL or a DBK, but I seem to have detected some dissatisfaction from people about the new EdgePro trem system. I've heard people say that Ibanez compromised on the new bridge in order to get out from under some licensing fees to Floyd Rose. I definitely do not want to buy a new Jem if the EdgePro is inferior. I know it has the new feature of supposedly returning to perfect tune after a dive, but honestly, I never had a single problem with the Edge or Lo-Pro, so it ain't broke, in my experience, thus I don't see a need to fix it.

Would I be better off trying to find an '02 DBK or an '03 VSBL with the Lo-Pro, or are the complaints I've heard about the '04 EdgePro premature? I'd love to hear from anyone who has played with the new system, especially if you also own Jems with the older trems. Thank you very much for your time!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-02-2004, 03:45 AM

Ibanez didn't do a thing to duck the FR patents. Rather, the patents have expired. The only con about the Edge Pro seems to be the lack of locking studs, but this negative can be taken care of pretty easily. (more info)
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-05-2007, 07:57 AM

Re: EdgePro compromises?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rory View Post