Fitting a sustainer in the ol' Jem (In the UK) - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-28-2003, 05:06 PM Thread Starter

Fitting a sustainer in the ol' Jem (In the UK)

Hi guys...just want to say first that I'm really sorry if this has been asked before - I did do a search but couldn't find an answer, and also sorry if it's the wrong forum, but it's to do with a Jem so I'll carry on...

I've been looking into buying a sustainer for my jem (like Steve's got on his), and the best looking one I have found is the Fernandes sustainer. I've heard lots of things about them and heard other alternatives, like www.sustaniac.com etc, but I think the fernandes one is the best for me. Now I'm not very good with the insides of the guitar(if that makes sense) - I wouldn't have a clue how to put it in and was wondering if any fellow Jemsters from the UK have had one fitted, and do you recommend somewhere to have it done? (Im in Birmingham, but I'd travel/ship it off somewhere). Is fitting the sustainer something pretty much any guitar tech can do? And can anyone suggest a reason for not having one?(I don't want to ruin my Jem, after all)
Many thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-28-2003, 05:34 PM

I'm sure there are place's up your way capable of doing it,But if your stuck give Machinehead.co.uk a go ... Barrie is a great tech and i have utter faith in him :-)

Of course,If you want it cheap i'll do it ;-)

Rob
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-28-2003, 06:50 PM

I think Darren Hunt from the band Wipeout has had something done like this on his Jem7VWH.

(Wipeout played at Jemfest UK a couple of weeks ago)
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-28-2003, 10:38 PM