Help With My Jem7vwh - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 09:49 AM Thread Starter

Help With My Jem7vwh

Im not really good with the tech work, so can you guys if me some help !

Recently, Im experiencing little fret buzzes on the 2nd fret of the B and G String. I already tried raising the bridge, but the fret buzz is still there. Now, should I try to adjust the trus rod? The reason, I don't want to change neck setup is because I have really low action, with no other fret buzzes except the 2nd fret. Apart from taking the guitar to a tech, what should i do ?

thanks...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 09:53 AM

raise the Nut Hight a little....sould work for buzz between frets 0 and 2-3 I think
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 09:59 AM
site founder 0% owner

Reviews: 1
nut height only helps the open string. check out the tech section of jemsite for step-by-step. it would help to explain what note is "fretted" and at what fret does the "buzz" occur. it seems odd the low strings don't buzz which could indicate a possibly high/loose fret on the e/b side of the fretboard... glen
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 08:05 PM
Vendor

If you're action is too low and the neck is too straight then the fretwork has to be impecible. You might get around it by dialing in a little neck relief to aid in clearance. If 3 is a little high it's aweful tough [and not advised] to walk a newbie through figuring out if 2 is low or 3 is high or if any of them are even so do you take it off of 3 and will that now buzz on 4 and on and you see what I mean. If you really want it that low and a little relief doesn't help then take it to a real Doctor.
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 09:41 PM Thread Starter

anyway ! thanks for the advice !