Help with Used JS1000 purchase - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-10-2008, 11:34 PM Thread Starter

Help with Used JS1000 purchase

Hey all-

I've been lusting after a JS1000 for over 10 years. I actually have a 10th Chrome Boy, but well..it sits in a case and doesn't get played! I just haven't been able to afford one, but this weekend i found a used one at a GC when I was visiting family in Indy. So I figured if I sold an old Tech 21 amp and my Js700 that I don't play much (too heavy) I could pay for this one ...but I do have a concern...there is literally a "chunk" out of the side of the bridge. Ive attached a photo...is this anything to be concerned about (besides cosmetic reasons)? Also, the Edge Pro shows noticable "rusting" on the top (you can also see this a bit inthe photo)

I've got 30 days to return (and will be visiting family again in about 2 weeks), so I want to make sure I've got a decent instrument here. It seems to play fairly well. The 5 & 7th fret are a bit "flat" where the strings have rubbed; but I think it's OK...how can you tell if you need to re-fret?

I know nothing about guitar tech, and since moving away from the city, I don't know anyone in a small town of 7000 to work on guitars; especially FR's...

Any advice is appreciated...thanks!

PICS Found Below!
http://gallery.me.com/brucefamily/100032

ps.. sorry for the crap pics, our camera stinks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-11-2008, 12:39 AM

Re: Help with Used JS1000 purchase

Looks like it needs a good cleaning and a recrown. maybe not worth more than $600 in that condition, but I am cheap like that. That chunk is a huge cosmetic issue when you really look at it but it doesn't seem like it would mess with the playability.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-11-2008, 12:55 AM Thread Starter

Dino-