Hey JS owners...I need a small favor - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-26-2010, 08:42 PM Thread Starter

Talking Hey JS owners...I need a small favor

Hey guys, I need a favor...I need two measurements from a JS. The first from the center of the 12th fret to the center of the neck humbucker(between the coils), and the second from the 12th to the center of the bridge humbucker. I've always wanted a JS but could never afford one. A while back I sold all my Strats and bought a J-Custom RG8470 RS and while I love it I still kind of wish I bought the JS 1600 I wanted. Well I'm a highly trained precision woodworker and built my first custom 13 years ago so...I'm building one...sort of. Its actually a 25.5", 22 fret through neck loaded with 5 carbon fiber rods and no truss rod (Gibson tilt back style too) with a beautiful tiger honduran mahogany body (RG outline with the horns toned down to look more like a strat). I special ordered an Ibanez gibralter III bridge and quick change III tail-piece with tone pros locking studs for both. Currently I'm waiting on two chrome top Dimarzio's(PAF PRO and FRED...of course) which will sit on two graduated and tilted humbucker rings to match the neck tilt. Instead of the typical JS push pull pot wiring however I am hoping to achive the same switching system by going with a "free-way" six way toggle from Stewmac(like on the Jimmy Page black beauty Les Paul but wired like a JS). There are many more unique features to this crazy guitar but in the end it will play and sound like a JS 1600....or I sure hope so. I'll post a couple pictures tomorrow so you can get a feel for it. It sounds like Frankenstein's monster but it will look classic with any luck. Thanks for helping me out. ~earthling~

Last edited by earthling; 05-27-2010 at 03:56 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement