I think I wanna buy a JS1000! - I think I wanna buy a JS1000 - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-17-2001, 02:56 PM Thread Starter

I think I wanna buy a JS1000! - I think I wanna buy a JS1000

Hi everyone!

I've been playing a js100BK for 3 years now, and I like it very much, except for 1 thing: the LO-TRSII trem! Since the day I bought it (new), I've had a number of problems with it :

1) it won't stay in tune --> after the guy in the local store checked it out, I figured the knife-edges were totaly dead, so it would'nt return to zero anymore! It seemed the trem studs dug their way far to much into the baseplate of the trem! He said it wouldn't help much if he'd sharpen the knife-edges, because the steel was so soft, the problem would return very soon!

2) the high E and B strings created multiple grooves in their saddles and sometimes, when I bend a note, the string slips into another groove. This creates an annoying sqeaking noise, or a sitar-like sound wich irritates me very much!

Now my question is: do all Lo-TRSIIs have this problem (soft steel or something?), or is it just my unit? I'm very much thinking of buying a JS1000 with a LO-PRO, but they are very hard to find second hand, here in the Netherlands... I would very much like to know what other peoples experiences are with LO-TRSII on a JS100. Maybe I 'abuse' it too much or something...

Thanx!

Michiel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-17-2001, 04:40 PM

I think I wanna buy a JS1000!

Today is your lucky day, michiel ...

(Guys, take a hike, I'm going to sell my JS-1000, and I dont want anyone getting ahold of my pattented sales technuiques..:biggrin

I've got an next to new white JS-1000, wich I want to sell.