I'm a JEM noob - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-22-2006, 07:18 AM Thread Starter

Red face I'm a JEM noob

I have been playing guitar for some 4 years now and have obviously heard a lot about Jems...mainly that they are incredible guitars. Anyway, these guitars clearly span a few decades with numerous models popping up here and there and i am interested to get my hands on one.

It is most likely that i would go for the JEM7V as it is the most redily available etc. but would you guys reccommend this an older JEM? i know this is kind of vague, but i am a JEM noob.

So yeah, whats the JEM7v like? does it compare to older models? if i were to go second hand (which i am happy to) where is the best place to start looking.

Cheers
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-22-2006, 07:30 AM

Re: I'm a JEM noob

When you say Jem7v I pressume you mean the vine white. It's a super guitar as are all of the Jems. There are slight differences in pickups over the models and on some of the older Jems (such as my 777DY) the neck joint is square and it's also a slightly "chunkier" neck.
Get down to your local guitar shop and try some out before you buy. But once your ready to take the plunge then contact Rich Harris at Ibanez Rules (banner at top of page) and he'll be able to sort you out with a beauty.

Ben
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-22-2006, 08:44 AM

Just to follow on from Eggy, definately give Rich a look when you've decided on a model to get.

Where abouts in the world are you? Prices fluctuate a lot depending on your location (I'd put your location in your profile too just incase you post in the classified section here with a wanted: jem ad).