jem DY costomisation - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-17-2003, 10:28 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 318
jem DY costomisation

what do you think of swapping the old pafs with a fernandes sustainer? I also want to change the bridge and middle pu with a breed.

Do you think the sustainer is a real good product or just a gimmic to use only a few times?

Do you have experienc with the fernandes sustainer in a jem? Is it necessary to make new cavities in the body??
jemke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-17-2003, 01:50 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,629
the sustainer is cool, but yes, you will need to have some routing done for it. You may be able to route the front of the guitar under the pickguard enough for the circuit board, but you'll have to route a battery cavity in the back.
littlegreenman is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-18-2003, 02:24 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 124
Or you could block the tremolo bar, and install the circuit in the spring-compartement.

Cheers,
Harry.
Harry_D is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-18-2003, 03:14 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry_D
Or you could block the tremolo bar, and install the circuit in the spring-compartement.

Cheers,
Harry.

not really considering the switches are mounted direct to the circuit board and need to be drilled through the top of the guitar for access.
littlegreenman is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-18-2003, 06:29 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 124
Oh? I've installed a sustainiac (www.sustainiac.com) about 2 years ago in my RG570. The volume/tone potmeters became push-pull switches, and that's it. Everything fitted right in the spring compartement.

Maybe they changed the design, or you're looking at another board.

Cheers,
Harry.
Harry_D is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-18-2003, 01:10 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,629
ok, the last one I installed had the switches hard mounted to the circuit board, that is what held the circuit board in place in the cavity.
littlegreenman is offline  
Reply

Tags
fernandes sustainer , tremolo bar

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome