To Jem or not to Jem? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-24-2006, 12:53 PM Thread Starter

Question To Jem or not to Jem?

That is the question.

We'll here it goes. I've been playing for 3 years, four in march , with my lovely Epiphone LP that ive fully tricked out. Its a great machine and I love it dearly but a JEM has always been the one guitar I would love to have. Im wanting one now more than ever because im getting to a stage when i want the added versitility of a locking tremolo. Edges seem to be the best in the world and starting to get into the shred side of guitar. Im usless now but it just takes practive. Plus, that monkey grip.. its soo cool!!!
Anyway since im a student i cant really afford the massive £1500 mark for them. I was considering getting one made with a swirl off cottamguitars but im not to sure. Firstly its all on the internet, i'll never get to play the guitar before forking out the cash, and how do i know it will be built to a high standard?

(thats the swirl I want, or as close as possible to it.. shame that bodies a 7 string and no monkey grip )

I guess what im asking is should I save up for an Ibanez Jem thats brand new out the shops or get one custom made? Has anyone had a guitar made from cottam and was it as good as you thought it would be and was it cheap? considering the end results. Another thing is if i was to get one from CottamGuitars where in the hell do i get a good neck? The infamous auction site seems to have them but thats a risky place. Its no dout full of fakes.
Sorry if this kinda thing has been posted before but im really unsure if i should get it.

Many Thanks!!!

Arran
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-24-2006, 01:15 PM

Re: To Jem or not to Jem?