Jem/UV dilemma... (To sell or not to sell) - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-17-2002, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
rvj

Jem/UV dilemma... (To sell or not to sell)

Well guys, I've got this major investment dilemma. I'm a Real Estate agent that has a chance to make a big financial score. The situation is I have an opportunity to buy a four story building in a hot area of Chicago. I would be a 50% partner with a co-worker. The problem is that we don't have enough money to swing it. The building will go for about $600k and need approximately $300k for improvements. Once completed, we'll sell the top three floors as condos for $1.4 million. Plus, we still retain ownership of the main retail space, which is currently rented for $3k a month. We need about $65k for a down payment, and have $52,000 between the two of us. Therefore we're only $13k shy, or $6500 each.

Now the dilemma.... I'm thinking of selling my UVMC, DNA, and 777DY.
I don't mind losing the UV and the DY, but the DNA is out of the question. Unfortunately the DNA is worth the most money and will most likely have to go along with the others.

As you can see, there is no way that I can pass on this opportunity. We can net about $250k each. This will go a long way in ensuring that my twins get a proper college education.

So, if you guys were in my shoes, what would you do? Any advice or opinions are greatly appreciated. Thanks!!! --rvj
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-17-2002, 07:59 PM
Vendor

Pull in a third minority investor with $20-25k, don't break your own banks as there's always the unexpected emergency around the corner which could create some major problems if you're tapped!
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-17-2002, 08:03 PM
site founder 0% owner

Reviews: 1