Jem505 to tinker with - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-28-2017, 06:37 AM Thread Starter

Jem505 to tinker with

Hi all,

I'm awaiting my brand new 505 that I found in a local guitar shop. It was sitting in it's case out back but due to chatting about them it's found a new home.

I've been after a Jem for a few years but some things I didn't like, such as the fretboard. If I'm a Jem owner I want a maple board with no vine, so this is a great starting point for me. So by the end of the week I'll have it. It' s white, brand new but will soon have a new pick guard (either plain black or a patterned black and white) green knobs, pink and green gravity storms and a green truss rod cover.

I'm debating swirling the body at some point. I'm a guitar builder and while I'm comfortable painting bodies, I have never done a swirl, so might leave that for a while, or at least test on one of my bodies first.

Anyway, hello and thoughts welcome, as are any images that might guide me. I'm mostly an N4 player so this will be a bit different!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-28-2017, 08:24 AM Thread Starter

Re: Jem505 to tinker with

Well, I just stumbled on the builder app. Great tool! This is what I'm aiming for initially. thoughts?
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-28-2017, 11:28 AM Thread Starter

ok, I have a question.
My N4 has a bill and becky l500 in the bridge and I like that tone.
I had adone a lot of reading on the gravity storms but, having never heard them in person, do you think they'll be a good fit. I'm after a little versatility but this machine will be aimed at the times when I want to shred. Would evos make more sense?

The more I read the more unsure I get. I like harmonic complexity but with some warmth. I'm just not sure if the GS will retain the clarity I'm after.