Jem7V, Jem77B, or something else? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-22-2006, 02:40 AM Thread Starter

Jem7V, Jem77B, or something else?

I started playing guitar when I was 12 up until I was 16, and then I quit for 4-5 years and now I'm back in the market for a new guitar since I'm playing like a madman once again. I've always wanted to get a better Jem (I have a Jem555 that I bought when I was 14.... bleck...) but I'm not sure what to go for. I believe the only models they are manufacturing are the Jem7VWH and the Jem77BRMR (I'd rather a 6-stringer at the moment) and I can't find anything else about other Jems that are in production. I'd rather have something brand new as a treat to myself since I've always bought used guitars.

There seriously doesn't seem to be much difference between the Jem7V and the Jem77B except the bodies and pickups that they use (and the finish of course.) Excuse the stupid questions since I'm not really technical with guitar hardware (yet,) but is basswood (Jem77B) better than an Alder body (Jem7V)? The 77B has Breeds and the 7V has Evolutions and I'm not sure what the difference in that is either.

Basically, what would you prefer from a neutral point of view in regards to purchasing either the 77B or 7V? Would the 77B really be worth the extra 3-$400?

I'd also be interested in something else, but I don't think I could find a Jem that's brand new and that's just as good since the 77Bs and 7Vs are the only ones I see that are still readily available, (the 77B is harder to find, though.) and if so, I'd have to find somewhere on the internet to order from.

I'd also be interested in maybe getting a Jackson Soloist SL1, but I'm not sure if the neck is what I'd be after since I LOVE really thin necks and the Jems definitely have the really thin fast-action neck that I'm looking for.