JemFP - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-10-2002, 08:24 AM Thread Starter

JemFP

Im currently playing a 77FP (88' model) and a new UV777 as far as jem/UVs go. Im getting into a whole Paganini phase, since really, im a classical musician, not a contempory fusion player. It could just be my sloppy technique, but im finding the block joint on the FP, combined with the PAF pups to be a little bit of a problem, the block obviously getting in the way (when doing hammer-ons on the high 'e' from 15-19-24 ) and the pups seem to be a bit weak, not enough treble, notes are just getting lost in my rectifiers obscene gain...
Im comfortable with the jem and UV series, and would like to keep playing them, so any suggestions on a better jem for that style of playing, (something with a thin fast neck, high output, and an all access joint) would be much apreciated

Rob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-10-2002, 10:18 AM

I'd suggest to get your hands on a Jem7V. All access Neck joint, alder Body, Evolution PUs. Yummy.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-12-2002, 09:27 PM

yeah, jem7vwh, and for a yet even thinner neck and MORE METAL SOUNDING pickups, the 7dbk is the way to go....and it's cheaper. it is a great guitar. i love those breed pickups.
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-12-2002, 11:49 PM

Ditto on the 7VWH or maybe that new blue one.

While I don't care for the tone of my VWH, it's very evenly powered and
harmonically rich pickups are great for tapping and finer nuances of
hammers and and pick attacks.

You might just want to keep the FP and drop from Evo's in it?
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-13-2002, 12:55 AM

Additionally, if you drop some GAIN you might get back some TONE.