JS100 + DiMarzio Evolution - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-22-2005, 01:43 PM Thread Starter

JS100 + DiMarzio Evolution

Hi, this is my first time posting on this website.
I have recently bought myself a JS100, yes i know its a cheap version, but its the only one i could afford since i live in South Africa, and everything here is expensive. I also had to order DiMarzio pickups from America because the suppliers in South Africa decided to stop bringing them in and selling them, so i ordered myself 1 DiMarzio Evolution pickup for the neck, and 1 Evolution for the bridge. Now i am a little worried, was this a good choice in pickups, or should I rather have gone for the Paf Joe and Paf Fred. Will the sound of my JS100 still sound good? I am also running it through a Marshall MG 100watt DSL amp, also not the best, but its fine for me, I also have the Boss Metal Zone pedal and a Korg Toneworks AX100G multi-effects pedal.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-22-2005, 01:57 PM

Re: JS100 + DiMarzio Evolution

I had a JS 100 with a pair of Evo's !

It sounded great, but a bit too cold for me...
I was not really happy with the split sound (the level was defintely too low...)

So I sold it...

But I'm not fond of Evo's even on JEMs so maybe it's just because I don't really like this pups on any guitar
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-22-2005, 02:09 PM Thread Starter

what do u mean by split sound?
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-22-2005, 02:16 PM Thread Starter

what are these F Spacings on the pickups? are they important, Cuz the neck pickups is F Spaced and the bridge pickup is normal spaced? does this matter, will i still be able to put them in?
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-22-2005, 02:21 PM

the bridge will need to be f spaced i think