JS1000 Breaks Strings - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-13-2003, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Münster Germany
Posts: 152
JS1000 Breaks Strings

Hi guys,

i bought a brand new 03 JS1000BTB a month ago. it was setup perfectly and everything is ok its a sweet guitar, i love it. but till i write this every string from high to low e broke, and thats not normal, is it? what can i do to stop this? avery few days a string breaks and 5 minutes ago it was the low e string that broke.......

what can i do?

thanks
phienix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-13-2003, 10:21 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 164
whoa a low E string broke? where did it break? at the contact point at the saddles or at the nut?
EXCrosslink is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-13-2003, 10:36 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 398
what strings do you use?
.009 gauge i reckon... but what brand?
saTa is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-13-2003, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Münster Germany
Posts: 152
they all break at the intonation point at the bridge

i use 0.09 d'addarios
phienix is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-13-2003, 11:23 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 398
you're referring to the saddles i reckon.

i suggest to loosen them, take them off and draw on there with a smooth pencil to make the saddles smoother and less hurting (damn... hard to say in english... check your icq, german :P)
saTa is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-13-2003, 07:44 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 336
You're tuned to E, right?
MehYam is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-14-2003, 06:06 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Münster Germany
Posts: 152
Sure!
phienix is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-14-2003, 07:35 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 336
And that's E below middle C, right?
MehYam is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-14-2003, 08:38 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Richmond, Kentucky
Posts: 3,339
Well are they breaking when you use the bar or what? I can break strings once a weak if i play alot, but my saddles are in no way sharp, just that if im playing alot im practicing with the whammy bar alot and when im practicing with it alot im breaking alot of strings *ill shut up now*
sniperfrommars1 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-15-2003, 01:15 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Münster Germany
Posts: 152
It usualy happens when using the bar. If it would be one of the higher strings that break.......but the low d and e string? i'm waiting for the a-string to break ^^
phienix is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-15-2003, 04:46 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Richmond, Kentucky
Posts: 3,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by phienix
It usualy happens when using the bar. If it would be one of the higher strings that break.......but the low d and e string? i'm waiting for the a-string to break ^^
Ive broken all the strings at one time or another its most directly attributed to wear. What kind of strings are you using?
sniperfrommars1 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-15-2003, 08:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 7
breaking strings

It may be that you havent tightened the retaining screws enough.
Thats happened to me before, if I don't tighten the screw, a few
strums later, BOINGG! the string just pops out. You can be sure if there
is no remnant of the string still sticking out of the vibrato block.
rosster is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-16-2003, 04:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Münster Germany
Posts: 152
Im using D'Addario 0.009 Strings.

And no, the String is really broke, its not popped out.


**** i dunno what to do now, ill call my dealer and ak him...
phienix is offline  
Reply

Tags
higher strings

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tight End Bridge problems, anyone think it breaks strings? CoversMonkey All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 3 01-05-2011 05:10 PM
JS1000 w Heavy Gauge (13.) strings? Jazzmatazz Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 6 12-02-2009 07:21 PM
js1000 or js1200 strings big_paul_ski Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 12 07-14-2009 10:20 PM
what strings to use on my js1000 btb? Aeolian555 Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 11 03-22-2009 10:28 AM
JS1000 Factory Strings GlassPrison2112 Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 1 10-18-2004 05:51 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome