JS900 Question! - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-16-2002, 02:01 AM Thread Starter

JS900 Question!

Hey guys,

I'm new here and I'm really keen on getting a new JS900 BP for myself (in Malaysia we're pretty much limited to a BP JS900 or a BTB JS1000). I am aware of the electronic and wood differences between the two models however, I'd like to know more about the Lo-Pro Edge and Edge bridges on the JS900 and JS1000.

Being a Strat player, I have very little experience with Floyd Rose style bridges so I was wondering it the "higher" Edge bridge will affect my playing style or will it be difficult to switch over from a Strat style bridge to adapt to the new Edge bridge?

I have a habit of resting my picking hand on the bridge saddles of my Strat while picking and from what I've heard, I can't do this on Floyd Rose style bridges without accidentally triggering some tremolo action? or will the Lo pro Edge be better for my case?

I can't try the two guitars out because the distributor here only orders them if someone is purchasing a unit but I managed to try the cheaper JS100 with the TRS bridge (hope i got that right) and it worked pretty ok for me because the bridge felt rather stiff.

I'd appreciate any help you can offer in this matter, thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-17-2002, 09:34 AM
Super Moderator

Reviews: 1
Well, in my experience, the Edge is usually a little looser than the Lo-Pro Edge with the same/similar set up on the guitar. The Lo-Pro is also definately less obtrusive when compared to an Edge bridge and as such is probably a little more like the traditional strat bridge.