Leaving Ibanez guitars - No more jems for me - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 142 (permalink) Old 06-05-2001, 02:38 AM Thread Starter

Leaving Ibanez guitars - No more jems for me

I know its sad I have been collecting other Ibanez guitars and Jems for a few years now. I think I liked them because they were different, and people would go wow! when you pulled out that fp from its case or when the stage lights dimmed on my glow in the dark pbk. And I liked the looks of them and how utilitarian they were "real work horse" guitars. But I find that every time I turn on my recorder or get ready to leave town to sit in with a band I always grab my PRS custom 24. It sounds better the neck pickup is not too bassie and not too "quacky" sounding like my jems are and the bridge pickup has great harmonics its tight and crunchy perfect for my lead needs. The Trem always stays in tune and its not such a "beach" to restring. The set neck makes it sustain longer then my Ibanez guitars. I've had pgms jems uv's lots of rg's 350's 450's 550's 560's 570's 770's dx's and even a fx a pgm90th a usa custom, icemen, three rg7620's and a rg7621 sabers, S series, a proline, a 540r and none could compare to my prs none made me totally happy I was always looking to mod them but the only mod I put on my prs is a set of gold strings. Ibanez necks are great for shredding but if I play them for more then an hour I get hand cramps they are just to thin for me. Now I'm not saying that Ibanez guitars are bad and PRS guitars are good that's just the way it is for me. The variety of styles I play requires me to use a more versatile guitar. It's not possible for me to hang on to the 24 Ibanez guitars I had just lying around because I liked the way they looked. I have already sold off the Ibanez guitars I had in my guitar vault ( my mint jem7pbk, a few customized ibane