LNG on ebay.co.uk -is it a fake????????????????????? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-26-2004, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 8
LNG on ebay.co.uk -is it a fake?????????????????????

Theres a LNG for sale on ebay .co.uk and the signature is on the trem back plate its number 635 , he sent me pics and it a "later" vai signature on the rear of the trem plate not the body. when I asked the vendor he said later ones were signed on the plate not on the back, I dont think this is accurate!!
I think it might be a fake the start price is £850.00 -whet do the experts think???
guitarzombie is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-26-2004, 05:41 PM
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Blackpool (England)
Posts: 266
LNG on e-bay.co.uk

I have seen later model LNG's with signatures on the scratch plate, I think due to the actual guitars not being available at the time of signing. What bothers me more about this guitar is

a) no picture on e-bay but the guy is more than happy to e-mail several different photo's on request.
b) the neck is really dark, the guy says it's dirt from years of playing but also says that the frets are immaculate and it's never had a refret
c) the signature and number are faded on the backplate, why didnít he remove this and preserve it

maybe I'm being paranoid. It is cheap enough but I suspect the collectablity is out of the window with the faded signature and number.

Dazza1004 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-26-2004, 06:15 PM
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 491
Looks dodgy to me - I'm always dubious of people with no feedback at all, and no pics and crap details. And local pickup only, although his only payment option is Paypal! Doesn't have a great 'feel' about it, that listing, although you never know, it could be genuine.
Serratus is offline  
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-26-2004, 08:42 PM
Rich's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 26,131
There are no "later" LNG's. There's offshore and onshore. Vai is in the US, US guitars were signed in person at both distributors, some of those distributed to N and S america. Offshore guitars had their plates signed and sent back to the factory/distributors to be put on the guitars. It's been rumored that he did sign a batch while he was in Japan on tour also.
Rich is offline  

scratch plate , trem plate

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning--- Fake Dimarzios on Ebay !! IbanezFreak777 Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk 19 04-11-2011 03:09 AM
ebay jim777 Off-topic / Miscellaneous 23 01-18-2011 11:55 AM
Fake/modified Jem7vwh on ebay? - i cant tell if its a real j Captain Ron Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 2 09-01-2001 03:47 PM
Is that a fake PGM90HAM? - Foudn that on Ebay cowcowcow Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 01-19-2001 09:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome