My new js1000 btb - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-01-2003, 06:54 AM Thread Starter

My new js1000 btb

Im new to JS's, ive been reading up on them for ages now, but never actually owned one... anyway I got my BTB today.... beautiful....
Anyway, ive wondered this for a while... where is the coil tap located? i dont mean which pickups it coil taps, i mean where is the switch to enguage it?
Also the volume knob crackles when turned, but would i be right in saying that would be one of the pots thats given up the ghost?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-01-2003, 10:27 AM
EKG

Congrats!

The guitar is equipped with push/pull knobs. Pull up on the volume knob to engage the high pass filter and pull up on the tone knob to engage the coil tap.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-01-2003, 01:35 PM

i need enlightenment with the filter.
i didnt notice what its supposed to do, maybe the guitar i played, a NOS 2001 had some wiring problems, i dunno. when i lift the volume knob, and rolled it up or down, it didnt do anything but raising/lowering the volume. wtf?
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-02-2003, 04:53 AM

Get a clean tone, back off the volume and engage the filter. That's the best way to 'discover' it.

I was quite surprised by it actually, I only upgraded from a JS100 with DiMarzios to a JS1 recently and found it makes the instrument so much more versatile.

Once you play about and explore with it, it really is great.
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-02-2003, 07:41 AM Thread Starter

Thanks EKG, but what do you think I should do about the crackling volume knob? Do you think it will just need a clean, or do you think I will need to replace a pot?
It crackles when turned, and also it fuzzes when touched.....
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-02-2003, 07:43 AM