Project Jem7 - What am I missing? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 07:34 PM Thread Starter

Project Jem7 - What am I missing?

I have had my eye on a Jem for a few years. I was never a big Vai fan, but that guitar seemed like the ULTIMATE guitar. My budget is around $1200 for this project and I think it seems pretty decent considering this guitar retails for almost $2500 here in Canada. I just need some direction in regards to exactly what hardware I need to replicate a Jem7VWH. I currently have a homemade Jem body on its way to me, and it looks like I'll be ordering a neck from ET guitars (depending on the wait time). I have never built/put together a guitar before and have never owned a guitar with a edge/floyd rose tremelo unit before so I'm new to this.

I have been looking over ibanezrules.com and from what I can tell, I need the following items:

Tuners
Lock Nut (thru)
Strap Pins
Edge Pro
Pickguard
Vol & Tone knob, Selector Tip
5 Way selector switch
Vol & Tone Pot
Bolt-on neck screws

What I am unsure about is what parts are needed to house the humbuckers and single coil? Beside the pickups themselves, what other parts do I need to install and mount them on the guitar?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-10-2010, 08:35 PM
Banned

Reviews: 98
Re: Project Jem7 - What am I missing?

You're going to need wiring, too! To mount pickups, you'll need the screws which come with the pups. They is sooooo much more to assebling a guitar than just attaching the parts. Shims may be needed for the neck pocket and under the locknut. You'll need to do a proper setup, so make sure to study Rich has on his site. In order to accuratly replicate a real Jem, just go to ibanez.com and look at the specs for the Jem you want to build.