Ibanez JEM Forum banner

Replacement pickups for Jem 7VWH?

7K views 19 replies 8 participants last post by  Zark77FP 
#1 ·
Good day all!

Quick intro: I'm new to Jemsite, but have been playing guitar on and off since 1988. I've just had the very unpleasant task of retiring my '91 Jem77FP and I am in desperate search of a worthy replacement for her. She has helped me become a guitarist and has helped mature my ear to recognize the tone I'm after.

I play mainly metal and progressive rock but I also enjoy the cleaner stuff. The guitars I've been considering are: 1. Ibanez J-Custom 2. Jem7VWH 3. ESP KH-2 and 4. Musicman Petrucci. I've been leaning towards a J-Custom as I prefer a thicker sound with more bottom-end than Jems typically offer, but Ishibashi Music (Japan) recently let me know that they are no longer allowed by Ibanez to sell new J-Customs internationally. I missed the deadline by a week or two… The ESP KH-2 is not a versatile guitar IMO, so I've crossed that one of my shortlist and the Petrucci, as much as I love the guitar, does not have a double locking trem which is a must for me.

That leaves the Jem 7VWH, which I adore!! (Especially now that they're no longer coming out with the Edge pro.) I've also heard good things about Ibanez Rules where I plan to place the order. It has always been a dream to own a professionally set-up guitar and this is exactly what Ibanez Rules promises. Any thoughts?