To sell or not to sell? - That is the question... - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-03-2001, 06:40 PM Thread Starter

To sell or not to sell? - That is the question...

At this moment I am at one of life's crossroads. I have a Jem7d and a Jem10 but I have no amp as such to play them through! I realise that this is fu**ing ridiculous and I intend to do something drastic about it.

Should I sell my 7d so I can buy a legacy half stack?

The problem is I am an impoverished student about to head back to university so I donít have enough ready cash to pick up a sweet valve amp suitable for gigging immediately. It would be at least six months before I would be able to save the cash without selling anything.

As far as I can see here are the pros and cons of selling the 7d:

Pros:
i) I can buy the Legacy immediately.
ii) I can gig again in pubic without the shame(*)

Cons:
i) The 7d was my first jem.
ii) Plays better than any other 7d's Iíve played.
iii) If I sold it I would have to use the jem10 and I might scratch it!!! It is #17 and is in 10/10 condition. As a result I have developed a phobia of playing it for prolonged durations. (30secs...)

There are the arguments.

What do you think?

(*) Significant shame is to be had playing Jems in public through a Boss Metal Zone into a Vantage 20 watt amp of crap into a PA. I have repeatedly tried to give the amp away or free on the Jemsite.( The Forbidden Post of Mystery )At one stage I was offered a Toasted ham and cheese sandwich for it. When I accepted it transpired the offer was alas, only in jestÖ

(Edited by jem10 at 6:44 pm on Aug. 3, 2001)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 08-03-2001, 06:48 PM

To sell or not to sell?