Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000 - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

I can't use anything higher than .9s for standard tuning or the lo-pro rasies way too high. And if I move up to 10s, I need to tune a full step down. I've looked at every tutorial I could find and I still can't figure out why the Lo-pro raises so much. I have tightened the springs and made 2 of them diagnal in the cavity and all that. Am I supposed to keep screwing in the screws past the end of the ridges? I'm pretty sure that's a hint to stop screwing..(You know how they have like half an inch before the end? I don't know the technical term for that.) I can't think of anything else I could do. Does anyone have any suggestions?
staypuft is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 04:06 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 879
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

You mean the lo-pro itself is tilted, and not action? If so, just keep trying. I restrung my js1000 with .10s and I love it, except that the action is still a bit high for me...
smitty
Smitty is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

Thanks for the reply. the lo-pro itself is tilted.
staypuft is offline  
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 06:30 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Odense S, Denmark
Posts: 9,952
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

Take the backplate off and adjust the screws and see the toturial in the tech section at Ibanez Rules (banner above).

Regards

André



fettouhi is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

I did.
staypuft is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 09:57 PM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,612
Reviews: 18
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

How are the knife edges? are they above or below the body?

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 12-29-2006, 11:52 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 879
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

Good point. I say just try your best...youll get eventually.
Smitty is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-02-2007, 10:18 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Porto Alegre, BR
Posts: 33
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

add another spring...
kisuco is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-02-2007, 10:45 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,398
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

The thing to do is to loosen the strings completely, tune the top few a few steps above their intended notes, then tune up the bottom strings. As soon as you tune one, the others go a bit out due to the tension change. To compensate for this, tune the guitar in sets, and over tune one set before tuning the other.
If you tune E to E, then A to A, then D to D, by the time you start on the top strings, the E and A are out. then you raise them, and the others are out. And you can keep raising them all you want, until your trem is as it is; very high! So just do try I wrote above.
dannymills is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-02-2007, 11:23 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mid Ohio Valley
Posts: 1,165
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by staypuft View Post
Thanks for the reply. the lo-pro itself is tilted.
The loPro and Edge will have a tilt. It's not FLAT like the EdgePro
\
If that is what you mean by "tilt"
Ke^in is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-02-2007, 11:33 AM
 
AirGuitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 834
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

I've always added another spring when ive restrung with 10's on an Ibanez. My musicman worked ok with 3 springs, but ive always needed 4 with Ibanez.
AirGuitar is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2007, 12:45 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

I added another spring but the cover that goes over the end of the springs (closest to the bridge) can't screw back on because the springs are in where the screws used to go.. Is that cover necesary?
staypuft is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2007, 05:40 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Exclamation Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

That spring holder thingy is necessary, otherwise when you pull up the springs will unseat from the trem block.

It will go completely out of tune, furthermore you may damage other things such as the knife edges (the trem could shift)
eviltwin is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2007, 07:04 AM
 
jb4674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,612
Reviews: 18
Smile Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by eviltwin View Post
That spring holder thingy is necessary, otherwise when you pull up the springs will unseat from the trem block.

It will go completely out of tune, furthermore you may damage other things such as the knife edges (the trem could shift)
That's not necessarily true. The block itself has a spring cover which in term is screwed into the block to prevent the springs from popping out. Even if you add one or two springs, you should be able to put the cover back on. Post some pictures and let us see how the bridge looks and how the back cavity looks.

Jimmy
jb4674 is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2007, 06:00 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Het rijk van Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Posts: 1,629
Lightbulb Re: Setting up the Lo-pro for js1000

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb4674 View Post
That's not necessarily true. The block itself has a spring cover which in term is screwed into the block to prevent the springs from popping out. Even if you add one or two springs, you should be able to put the cover back on. Post some pictures and let us see how the bridge looks and how the back cavity looks.

Jimmy

I think it was exactly that spring cover at the end of the trem block, that he was intending on leaving off...
eviltwin is offline  
Reply

Tags
trem block

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about setting up my Edge Pro trem billyboy Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 04-05-2006 08:55 PM
eventide H-3000S setting help needed Hartfolk Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 2 07-21-2005 05:09 PM
Setting up my guitar... Sam101 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 07-15-2005 10:14 AM
RG570 tremblock setting knotty Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 04-23-2005 06:40 PM
Any problem setting up for BEADGB? - Any problem setting up Pudreaux Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 2 06-28-2001 02:56 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome