Spending the money the right way ... - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-27-2002, 10:24 AM Thread Starter

Spending the money the right way ...

Hi all you JEM experts !

I am a huge Vai fan, and always wanted to own a JEM (not a 555, but like any of the others). Here's the situation : being a student I don't have that much money, mmmmh, but I managed to pick up a used (second hand) RG550 with a Di Marzio PAF PRO in bridge position (other pickups stock Ibanez). The guitar is in good condition, although the neck is slightly bent backwards. My question which of the two following options would you consider, and why ?

OPTION 1 :

- I buy a DiMarzio Evolution for the Bridge (keeping the PAF for the neck),
- I have the neck reajusted by a luthier,
- I have the fretts reworked on a little,
- I change the two knobs (tone and volume) that are falling off.

and therefore end up with a pretty decent guitar or :

OPTION 2 :

- I eventually try to resell that guitar,
- Save more money,
- Go for a used JEM ...

and have a real JEM ...

Well the point is, OPTION 2 might be actually more expensive than OPTION 1 and if I get a used JEM maybe I would still have money to send for neck and/or fret work to be done .... mmmh, on the other side is it worth spending money on my used RG550 ?

Any critical comments welcome,

cheers, folks

stephan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-27-2002, 10:45 AM

If you sell the 550, don't have work done on it before hand. I doubt you'll profit. I would get the work done, stick with the 550, and really learn. Then get a Jem when you feel you can really justify it.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-27-2002, 11:38 AM