Tremel-yes or Tremel-no? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-08-2008, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Worcester, MA USA
Posts: 26
Question Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

I've read so many mixed reviews regarding the tremel-no product...I've actually got my first jem (to own) coming, and I was curious what others here have to say. The one jem that I've played quite a bit had one, and the owner swears by it. However alot say a totally properly set up will negate any problems. How sensitive is it and is it worth it. Some say unless you have no plans to "raise" pitch, put the unit in. others, again, say get it set up right!!!
dahjem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-08-2008, 08:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Istanbul/Türkiye
Posts: 240
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Could you tell me the "mixed" reviews that you read. I'm about to buy that product.
Kerem is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-08-2008, 08:39 PM
 
sofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 109
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

I have one in my RG and will don't plan to have another floating trem guitar without one. It was easy to install, works exactly as it should and is simple to use. I've just got another one to put on my PRS.

They really are a great invention.
sofo is offline  
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-08-2008, 08:43 PM
 
CosmicDebris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 3,980
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sofo View Post
I have one in my RG and will don't plan to have another floating trem guitar without one. It was easy to install, works exactly as it should and is simple to use. I've just got another one to put on my PRS.

They really are a great invention.
Agreed
CosmicDebris is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-08-2008, 08:47 PM
Moderator
 
elcid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 9,592
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Yep, get one. You'll save yourself alot of headaches
elcid is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-08-2008, 08:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Istanbul/Türkiye
Posts: 240
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Theres two types of tremol-no, clamp and pin type.
Which one jemsite tremol-no users use? Are there any difference?

Erm...
I thought that edge pro has a block with 2 screws at the bottom, i didnt try to unscrew it but i think it holds springs, so which one do i need to choose?

Last edited by Kerem; 01-08-2008 at 09:18 PM.
Kerem is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 01:07 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 203
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Mixed reviews? Every one I've read has been positive, and I was one of those people eagerly awaiting it's release onto the market for years!

I have one in my RG2027, and another waiting for installation whenever I perform my next annual maintenance. Yes, it can be a little tricky to install but it's certainly worth it. I intend to install one in all my trem-equipped guitars.
Awakened Sleeper is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 01:31 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria - BC, Canada
Posts: 666
Reviews: 6
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Can these things be lock when say you want to change the strings ? Cause i'd be sold if they could do that. I am tired of stuff bottle caps under trem.
Fender868 is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 02:36 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Yes they can be locked for string changes. Also, there are no longer two types. Only the Pin type is available.
Lunatic is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 03:32 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,200
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Yeah, this is the first of "mixed reviews" I've ever heard. From the sound of it, the dude reviewing just didn't know what he was doing. With the Tremol-no unlocked and the Deep-C either not installed or positioned out of the range of the trem, pull up is just as smooth as dive and you'll never know anything's in there. It's only with the Deep-C in place and locked that it's dive-only.

It's really just like an on/off switch for your trem, with an added dive-only mode. I've been using one for years now, since the prototyping phase, and honestly I'd never want to play a floating trem without one. If NOTHING else, it makes changing strings much easier since you can just lock it down and save yourself the hassle of re-balancing the trem each string.
Drew is offline  
post #11 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 03:44 PM
 
taracatac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,046
Thumbs up Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Here's another positive response. I love it.
taracatac is offline  
post #12 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 04:42 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Waltham Abbey, Essex, England
Posts: 452
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

My one just came today, gonna install it after Kevan gets back to me regarding some installation questions.

I'll let you know what I think about it soon as!
Rekuss is offline  
post #13 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 04:47 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 446
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

I'm still waiting for mine to arrive from some ******* on *bay.
Gudster is offline  
post #14 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 05:14 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Effingham, Illinois
Posts: 324
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

My only problem with the unit is that I lose the thumbscrews all the time during gigs.

They should be a set thumbscrew so they can't fall out.

Otherwise it works great...

Dave
davenit is offline  
post #15 of 27 (permalink) Old 01-09-2008, 05:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Istanbul/Türkiye
Posts: 240
Re: Tremel-yes or Tremel-no?

Quote:
Originally Posted by davenit View Post
My only problem with the unit is that I lose the thumbscrews all the time during gigs.

They should be a set thumbscrew so they can't fall out.

Otherwise it works great...

Dave
its very good idea you should tell this to them!
How much tremol-no costs?
65$?
Kerem is offline  
Reply

Tags
equipped guitar , string tension , trem guitar

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










 
Similar Searches

People searched for this, also searched for these:

what tremel-no ibanez
how to block tremel bridbe

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome