Turning a JS100 into a JS1000 - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-10-2010, 12:04 PM Thread Starter

Turning a JS100 into a JS1000

Hi,

Today I got l hold of a JS100 body and neck for free!!!
So since I have an empty body there I thought I might as well try to get as close to a JS1000 as I can. But I've never done this before and I'd need as much help as I can get
I've got all the specs I could find for the JS1000 and wiring diagrams as well, but I wanted to put my shopping list in front of you guys to see if I'm going wrong somewhere, anything that's missing or something I should change.

Here it is, along with some questions:

Pickups:

Neck: Dimarzio PAF Joe (standard or f-spaced?)
Bridge: Dimarzio Fred (f-spaced if I'm not wrong)

Tremolo: I'd like to fit an Edge Pro, but I'veheard that it would need some routing (which I don't dare doing). Is there any other good trem that would fit without major wood work?

Electronics: Looking at the diagrams this is what I should need. Is that it?

3 way pickup switch
Volume push/pull pod (500K-W)
Tone push/pull pod (500K-D)
331pf Capacitor
223pf Capacitor
Output Jack
Knobs

I'm not into electronics at all so any detail or spec you want to add to this list (as silly as it may be) will be much appreciated. Also if you know of any good places to buy from (I'm in London, UK).

Thanks in advance for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-10-2010, 01:32 PM

Re: Turning a JS100 into a JS1000

You PAF Joe can be standard of F-spaced, it doesn't matter for the neck. However, your Fred should b F-spaced, and most people just have both pups F-spaced for consistency.

As for electronics, you will also need a wiring kit as you will need more wires to connect the input jack and such.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-10-2010, 04:05 PM