Virgin requires help - Jem questions - oops, turned out to b - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-11-2001, 08:09 AM Thread Starter

Virgin requires help - Jem questions - oops, turned out to b

Sorry for the blatant attempt to get you to read this, but I AM a first time buyer of a Jem, so the title is not too untrue!!! ;o)

I've been playing for many years now, though not so seriously over the last 3 years due to having a job(), and have now decided, after playing a friends 7VWH, that a Jem it has be! *So, I have a couple questions if you don't mind ... ...

Firstly, I'm can't really afford a 7VWH, so I'm deciding to go for the 7DBK. *The only problem is that there isn't a shop near that has one and was therefore wondering what others thought of this guitar, e.g. compared with the 7VWH, does it play the same, etc?

I'm not bothered about NOT having scalloped frets at the top and I've played an RGsomething with the Breed PUs and I thought that they had a pretty cool sound. I personally think that the Evos are a bit toppy, but did sound unreally sweet in the neck/single coil position in my amp/effects set-up. *I use the Legacy amp, Digitech RP6 fx (using Legacy drive channel of course) and I've just switched to 10-38 Dean Markley strings. *I've always had problems, with all 6 of my amps & fx settings, with an awful lack of bass clarity, but these strings are simply wonderful and have really improved my sound. So much so, that I'm actually happy for the first time in about 6years!

Secondly, where do you other Brits recommend buying from, e.g. where is it cheapest, import from U.S.A, U.K shops to recommend, that sort of thing.