when you first bought a JEM.... - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-24-2003, 09:19 AM Thread Starter

when you first bought a JEM....

This is sort of stupid but I'm just interested...how good/old/long you've been playing for when you first bought a jem? Which jem was it?

I was going to get a jem a few months ago but I ended up getting rg 570 coz I felt like I wasn't good enough for a jem vwh. I know it's hard to judge good and bad with words but i have major low self-esteem (pisses me off but I can't do anything about it. )
I'm 18 and i've been playing for 3-4 years.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-24-2003, 09:36 AM

It doesnt really matter how long you have been playing really.
It all depends on how much per day you play...and whether you are a fast learner.

Different people learn at different speeds...and some people just have natural talent !!

And this might sound corny but it doesnt really matter how good or bad you are, as long as you are having fun.

And as for the question about the JEM.....well.....it really depends on your financial situation etc...

If someone has only been playing 2 years, and wants a JEM, good luck to them.
I say, if you want a JEM, go get a JEM!

You dont have to be good to play a JEM!
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-24-2003, 10:19 AM

I bought my first JEM in '93. It was a 7VWH. I sucked. Ten years later, and I'm on my 4th JEM7VWH. I still suck. However, my walls are much prettier with all of the cool guitars on them.

The instrument itself isn't really relevant, nor is age. Steve Vai would still be Steve Vai even on a crappy $50 Hondo. It's more a matter of practicing, commitment and the #1 ingredient: having fun.

(Of course, having the cash to drop on a JEM is obviously a factor as well )
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-24-2003, 10:35 AM