White JEM, black JEM? What does it all mean? - Jemsite
Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models For discussion of Ibanez JEM, Universe and JS (Satriani) guitars only.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-17-2009, 03:40 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 2
White JEM, black JEM? What does it all mean?

Hey everyone.

I figured I'd make my presence known with a bit of an introduction, and a question or rather a dilemma I have. I hope nobody will throw rocks (as other forum people have) as I see the people here aren't as biased against beginners as... well, everyone. Yes, I'm a beginner on a quest to rock 'n' roll, and metal, and whatnot. I like a ton of different music, but for the purposes of my dilemma, let's just say my immediate goals are buying a JEM and going from beginner to intermediate to... not getting ahead of myself.

I've been playing since November (on a 65$ acoustic), and though the beginner stages of learning guitar have been OK, and my calluses quite unsightly, I believe it's time to move on to an electric. My first forray into "what electric should I buy" was on the justinguitar.com forums (I'm sure at least some of you are familiar with them), and it's there that I sort of got a feel for what the market was, and got pummeled with the notion of "stay away from cheap electric guitars and starter sets lest ye be struck by lightning by the God of Rock".

Sure enough, I browsed a bit, and I found a guitar. The JEM555. Well, rather stumbled into the thing listening to "For the love of God". Let's say living in Romania is a real bother when buying guitars (no used JEMs, just weird models I'm unfamiliar with). I found an Ibanez dealer, that has the JEM555s (BK and WH), and the 7Vs.