Active PU's in an RG1570? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2010, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mass
Posts: 1
Active PU's in an RG1570?

Would I have to do any sort of routing to fit EMG's/SD Blackouts into a 1570?
Bruce_W is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 04:59 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plainfield, Illinois
Posts: 2,810
Reviews: 11
Re: Active PU's in an RG1570?

SD makes blackouts that will fit where the stock V7 & V8 pickups are but EMG does not. you will have to tear up the guitar for the EMG's. i dont suggest doing that because if you hate them theres no going back, the wood is gone. so i say go for the seymour duncans. and i dont know if it comes with the battery cavity in there so there MIGHT be routing no matter what you do. if you do the EMG's though theres a 100% chance of routing and (i think) destroying your guitar
D.M.RG7620 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-22-2010, 07:42 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 955
Re: Active PU's in an RG1570?

That applies to 7-strings, but not 6-strings so much I don't think. Covered or EMG/SD style pickups should fit into those cavities fine.
NeglectedField is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2010, 02:21 AM
 
Tank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 926
Reviews: 65
Re: Active PU's in an RG1570?

I think those active pups sound like crap in a 1570, but your choice...
Tank is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2010, 05:42 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plainfield, Illinois
Posts: 2,810
Reviews: 11
Re: Active PU's in an RG1570?

i cant remember if you have to destroy your 6 strings or not for EMG's or not. and i agree with Tank, for some reason, ibanez and active pickups dont mix
D.M.RG7620 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2010, 07:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 797
Re: Active PU's in an RG1570?

The 7 string pickups will require routing. 6 string versions should fit without too many issues.

I'm not a fan of EMGs myself but there are many who love them.
PBGas is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-24-2010, 08:51 PM
 
taracatac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,046
Re: Active PU's in an RG1570?

I have done this. I had to take a file to the corners of the EMGs to make them fit. Not too much, just flatten them out a bit and you should be fine.
taracatac is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-26-2010, 11:34 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plainfield, Illinois
Posts: 2,810
Reviews: 11
Re: Active PU's in an RG1570?

as long as you dont have to kill the body im ok with the pickups. but if you have to go through all that just to put em inthats either an a-hole company owner or a genius a-hole company owner
D.M.RG7620 is offline  
Reply

Tags
blackouts , emg's , routing

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't get sound of my new PU's ManicSubsidal Pickups & wiring 5 05-14-2008 02:44 PM
new PU's on a OLP Petrucci [email protected] Pickups & wiring 2 09-06-2007 02:16 PM
Please Recommend new PU's for my RG. Telekon177 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 12 11-21-2005 10:55 AM
NEED NEW PU's... Optimus Prime Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 14 11-07-2002 11:24 AM
Active Bartolini PU's for 7 - any good? brianboros All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 1 03-30-2002 06:11 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome