Another Beginner - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-12-2007, 12:28 PM Thread Starter

Another Beginner

I'm a 20 year drummer (i'm 34) and have decided to learn how to play the guitar. I've always loved the guitar and actually have always been more into guitarists than drummers (Vai, E. Johnson, Satriani, Steve Morse, etc.). I don't play in bands anymore and playing the drums alone is getting kinda boring. I love the guitar and it's something I can do at anytime of the day or night unlike the drums :-)

I'm looking to get a guitar in the $300-$400 range and the only thing I know for sure is that I want an Ibanez. I'm going to be pairing it with Roland Micro-Cube as that seems to be one of the best practice/beginner amps. I'm basically a metalhead, but I want to be able to play other styles if need be. I want something that will last me a couple of years until I get a good feel and develop my own style and preferences so that I can invest in a better axe.

I've read so many reviews and opinions over the last couple of weeks that my head is spinning! My main confusion has been over getting something with a tremolo or not. I read all these horror stories about going out of tune, hard to maintain, hard to setup properly, etc. I love tremolos and the versatility that comes with having one. But having never played the guitar before I don't know if I should get one with a trem or not. I have a lot to learn for sure and I don't want to get frustrated with a tremolo and have it prohibit me from learning properly.