Any opinions about RG470AHZ or RGA42TFMZ as first guitar? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-31-2011, 10:23 AM Thread Starter

Any opinions about RG470AHZ or RGA42TFMZ as first guitar?

Hello,

I am looking forward starting to practice playing guitar and after going through multiple brands & models I found out about these guitars. They seem to be new 2011 models. I would like to have some opinions on them if they're good for newcomer and if they're generally worth their prices. Also I am pretty new to pickups (naturally) and I don't know much about them. I thought RG470AHZ's HSH-setup would be better for newbie since it gives more possible combinations for different sound. Then again RGA has active pickups and that PRE-EQ system or whatever. Both have new Edge Zero II-tremolo which seemed very nice technically.

Any helpful info & tips on what I should pick as my guitar are appreciated!

Thank you in advance!

Last edited by Lasse.; 03-31-2011 at 11:59 AM. Reason: fixed typos
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-31-2011, 11:48 AM

Re: Any opinions about RG470AHZ or RGA42TFMZ as first guitar?

That's a really tough choice. As far as the pickups go, you're going to have very nice tone options either way. The RGA is geared more towards metal while the RG will give you more of an all around sound. Also, those extra cuts on the horns of the RGA will help a little when soloing. As far as wood is concerned, the mahogany will be a lot warmer sounding on the RGA. In my opinion, the RG will be more comfortable to play sitting down. It has forearm cut the RGA lacks. The necks will be the same on both.